Slow Night: 1 & 2 by Robert Warrington

Slow Night: 1
 
You’ve never been loved by anyone
and I don’t love you either
My life’s a gallery
of surreal disappointments
and you’re th latest
and it’s not your fault
 
You say you’ve got nothing
and I’ve got everything
You twist all my guilt
because even if I haven’t got everything
you have got nothing
and it’s not your fault
 
I don’t know which is more lonely
sitting in your flat with you
or sitting by myself in mine
I can’t help you in your loneliness
and you make mine worse
and it’s not your fault
 
Slow Night: 2
 
I try to draw you
in to something like a conversation
 
My attempts get sighs
eyes that slide away
 
I try to be amusing
Your face is blank
 
I reveal something painful
You laugh out loud
 
Between failures
I get you drinks
 
I wonder why I’m here
but I know why I’m here
 
Seeing you breaks the pattern
of not seeing anyone
 
but being with you
is just another kind of alone

3 responses to “Slow Night: 1 & 2 by Robert Warrington

  1. I liked both of these very, very much. They are simply worded, to the point, and universal.

  2. Pingback: Parasitic #12 « Parasitic

  3. Thought both pieces were excellent..
    Sad but real.

Leave a Reply

