Red Chair Variations by Rinat Harel

 

 

 

I’m sitting on a small red plastic chair

Going fast

down a

slope

The chair’s metal legs screech

As they scrape the asphalt

 

I ride the chair and dash down the mountain

In front of me just the                                     open air

I remember the climb up from its other side

(Steep rise

I grab soil with my fingers

The grains scratch my hands

My feet dig into the soft earth)

And then, at the peak,

looking down

To see the drop all the way to the

 

   

Bottom

Feeling quite nervous

But immediately I find myself hurtled on the

Small red plastic chair

And I gallop

down

Holding tight to the sides of the seat

Vibrate as the chair and I buck on the paved road

I think I can smell the friction of metal and tar

Under me

Pebbles sliding all around

My body leans forward dangerously

 

 

Am I screaming?

 

 

 

5 responses to “Red Chair Variations by Rinat Harel

  1. This is wonderful.

  2. Pingback: Parasitic #12 « Parasitic

  3. Ooh, I love this. It is so visceral … inspires every sense and catapults the mind to the finish.

  4. Very emotional and moving…no pun intended. All about the Life Force!

  5. This shows a lot of skill.

Leave a Reply

