ENVY ~ Dave Oprava

Can see from here
that kid has a full
nappy, the sag is telltale,

the mothers haggard
clutch about them
the pecking monsters

as I sip coffee
and wonder where
my kids are now,

out and about, one-eyed
alien solipsoids devoid
of perspective but living

so viscerally they come
close to PLOTZ almost
every moment they live,

just like this kid, pants
full of crap but so glad
to be alive it hurts

my eyes as I wish
I was down there
on the floor with him,

and that the banal shit
in which I usually sit
wasn’t so proverbial.

Leave a Reply

